Skip to main content
logo white
Off canvas

Updated Five-Star Quality Rating System Technical User’s Guide

Nursing home quality improvement

As assistance to nursing homes, CMS has provided an updated Five-Star Quality Rating System Technical User’s Guide that explains the changes made to the (Quality Measure (QM) domain and additional methodological changes that become part of the five-star rating system as of July 27, 2016.

Changes include 

  • using four quarters of data rather than three for determining QM ratings
  • reducing the minimum denominator for all measures (short-stay, long-stay, and claims-based) to 20 summed across four quarters
  • revising the imputation methodology for QMs with low denominators meeting specific criteria; a facility’s own available data will be used, and the state average will be used to reach the minimum denominator
  • using national cut points for assigning points for the ADL QM rather than state-specific thresholds

Visit the Five-Star Quality Rating System web page for more information and links.

Add comment
  • No comments found