Skip to main content
Off canvas

HealthInsight Announces Changes to Its Board of Directors

Albuquerque, NM — During its April 29 board of directors meeting, the New Mexico Medical Review Association (NMMRA), the Medicare Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) and External Quality Review Organization (EQRO) for New Mexico, announced several changes to its board composition, prompted in part by Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) mandates on QIO governance. NMMRA’s 12-member board represents a variety of health care settings and disciplines from across the state and includes individuals with backgrounds outside of health care.

Don Seelinger, MD, and Stephen Haynes, MD, MPH
Don Seelinger, MD, and
Stephen Haynes, MD, MPH

Stepping down were Stephen Haynes, MD, MPH, (Clovis) most recent board president serving since August 2010, and Don F. Seelinger, MD, (Albuquerque) who served as board president from August 2002 through August 2010. They will now serve as trustees to the HealthInsight Management Corporation board. On April 25, NMMRA announced its legal affiliation with HealthInsight, a management corporation based in Salt Lake City, Utah. HealthInsight Management Corporation oversees separate not-for-profit corporations in Nevada and Utah that serve respectively as Medicare QIOs in each of those states and which hold contracts similar in nature to those held by NMMRA.  

“Both physicians have been absolutely critical in providing leadership to NMMRA for a very long time,” says Dan Jaco, NMMRA chief executive officer, “which added together is well over 40 years! They were instrumental in the organization taking the enormously courageous step toward affiliating with HealthInsight, and they will continue as trustees on the HealthInsight Management Corporation board to provide corporate-level input and report to the NMMRA board on developments in the three states.” Joining Drs. Haynes and Seelinger as ex officio trustees of HealthInsight are Richard Kozoll, MD, MPH, and Dan Jaco.

Ellen Cosgrove, MD Jeff Dye, MBA, FACHE
Ellen Cosgrove,
Jeff Dye,

Elected to the NMMRA board as HealthInsight appointees were Ellen Cosgrove, MD, professor of medicine and senior associate dean for education at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, and Jeff Dye, MBA, FACHE, president of the New Mexico Hospital Association. 

“Dr. Cosgrove brings a keen interest in quality and is board-certified in both internal medicine and geriatrics,” adds Jaco. “She is very much involved in continuing medical education both at the state and national levels. Jeff Dye, who serves on a variety of state-level boards and committees and is a supporter of numerous quality initiatives in the state, was already a frequent visitor to NMMRA’s offices in his role on several NMMRA-sponsored initiatives. NMMRA welcomes the expertise these individuals now bring to the board.”

Continuing on the board are Anne Simpson, MD (Albuquerque); Sam Kankanala, MD, MBA (Hobbs); Robert Boverie, BA, BBA (Albuquerque); Lucrecia Jaramillo, JD (Albuquerque); Danny Burnett, MEd (Albuquerque); Charlene Casados, RN, BS (Albuquerque); Annie Jung, MEd (Albuquerque); and Richard Kozoll, MD, MPH. At the meeting, the board also elected officers for the coming year. Now serving are Dr. Kozoll, president; Dr. Simpson, vice president; and Ms. Jung, continuing as secretary-treasurer.